P2124689.52184241_std P2124701.52184943_std P2124686.52183846_std
Pier and Covered Pavilion Levee Road in Fort Anahuac Park
Provided by Anahuac Municipal District for the citizens of Chambers County

Anahuac Municipal Development District

On May 19, 2008 the citizens of the City of Anahuac voted on Proposition 1, forming the Anahuac Municipal Development District. The City Council canvassed the election and the A.M.D.D. became official, levying a one-half cent sales tax to fund the organization.

The Anahuac Municipal Development District is managed by a board of directors appointed by the City Council of the City of Anahuac. There are five voting directors who make up the A.M.D.D. board.

Danny Thompson – Chairperson, Janice Jircik – Vice-Chairperson, Natalyn Royer – Secretary/Treasurer, Bill Stults – Member, Brandi Brown – Member,  Annette Abernathy – Office Administrator

What We Do 

The Anahuac Municipal Development District was created for the purpose of advancing Anahuac through development of economic tourism and supporting, promoting and aiding projects in any way possible for growth of the city allowed by Government Code 377.00.


Cradle of Texas Independence Turtle Bayou Resolutions


Located on the outside office building wall of JP Randy Van Deventer near the Chambers County Court House.

Provided by AMDD to highlight Anahuac’s importance in the fight for Texas Independence.